Four Rocks Compete At UWW Nationals

Niko Gonzalez, Riley Ucker, Ismael Ayoub, and Seth Shumate traveled to Akron during the first weekend in June to compete against the best in the nation. All four came back with wins while Ucker placed in Greco and Shumate placed in Greco and Freestyle. Shumate’s 2nd place finish in freestyle secured a spot as an alternate on the World Team.

Freestyle/Greco State Tournament (May 18th and 19th)

Congratulations to the following Rocks Wrestlers who won or placed at the state tournament in Freestyle and/or Greco:

Freestyle State Champions: Riley Ucker and Seth Shumate

Freestyle State Placers: Ismael Ayoub (4th), Niko Gonzalez (5th), and Nick Copley (6th)

Greco State Champions: Seth Shumate and Niko Gonzalez

Greco State Placers: Nick Copley (2nd), Riley Ucker (2nd), Antonio Gonzalez (3rd), Davante Cooper (6th), and Rupert Moore (6th)

Coffman Freestyle/Greco Qualifier

On April 20th, Coffman hosted their first freestyle/greco state qualifier tournament. Typically the wrestlers get all of the ink, but this past weekend the parents stole the show. Our parents and volunteers stepped up this past weekend to host the largest qualifier in the state. It was truly an amazing display of teamwork. Thank you!

Rocks Bring Back Three All Americans From NHSCA Nationals

A total of seven Coffman wrestlers made the trip to Virginia Beach, Virginia for the NHSCA National Tournament. Niko Gonzalez, Riley Ucker, Ismael Ayoub, and Seth Shumate competed in the freshmen division. Cam Callahan and Nick Copley competed in the junior division. Antonio Gonzalez competed in the senior division. All seven recorded wins on the weekend and three came back as All-Americans. Congratulations to Seth Shumate, Riley Ucker, and Ismael Ayoub for earning All-American status. What a great way to kick off the offseason!

Natonal Champion 195 lbs. – Seth Shumate

Third Place 22o lbs. – Riley Ucker

Fourth Place 126 lbs. – Ismael Ayoub